Shostakovich & Mendelssohn: Orchestra

of the City

Saturday 13 June 2020

7.30pm, Clifton Cathedral

Tickets: £22, £18, £15, £5 students

Chris Hopkins - conductor & piano

Shostakovich 603x405.jpg

The Orchestra of the City makes its Bristol debut this Summer with Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No.2. An instrumental tour de force, it flits between mischievous wit and majestic splendour, through the heart-wrenching beauty of its slow movement, to a blistering rhythmic finale.


Alongside is Mendelssohn’s brooding 'Scottish' Symphony, inspired by a twilight walk around the chapel ruins at Edinburgh’s Holyrood Palace.


Since its first concert in 2003, the Orchestra of the City has given over 60 performances including world premieres and performances alongside acclaimed international soloists across London and the UK.




Felix Mendelssohn - Symphony No.3 ‘Scottish’

Dmitri Shostakovich - Piano Concerto No. 2 in F major, Op. 102

Fanny Mendelssohn - Overture in C Major

cifom logo bigger.jpg